India batsman Shreyas Iyer bags a fifer


The annual awards of the Mumbai Cricket Association were pending since the 2016–17 season. Hence the list of awardees at Friday’s award ceremony included a lot of cricketers.

However, one name- Shreyas Iyer, who has already represented the country in all three formats, bagged five trophies for his stellar performances for Mumbai in the last five seasons.

He received the first trophy—the Late Shri SV Rajadhyaksha Trophy—for being the highest run-scorer in the 2016–17 Ranji Trophy season. He also received the Dattu Phadkar Award for this season.

Read also: Rishabh Pant’s knee surgery successful, cricketer is recovering fast

Then, he received a special award for the fastest century in the 2017–18 Ranji season. This was followed by a special award for another fastest century in the 2018–19 Ranji season.

The fifth award he received was the Justice Tendolkar Trophy for the best senior cricketer of 2018–19.


Source link